PDA

View Full Version : Help me analyze my groups?

glug
05-19-2012, 5:47 PM
Hi,

I'm still pretty new to precision rifle shooting but am working hard to get better. I am only shooting from 100 yards at this point but would like to progress out further as my shooting improves.

I have a Remington 700 in 308 Winchester and have done some basic things to accurize it (free-floating barrel, 3 lb Timney trigger, bubble level for good measure). I shoot from a basic front rest and rear bag (no lead sled or anything like that).

Without further ado, my results. All from the same shooting session at 100 yards:

1st "group" if you can call it that was from a cold, clean bore and cheap 150 grain American Eagle. I am not sure what was going on here. I know this isn't the best ammo but I would still expect at least 1.5 MOA, not 4 inch groups. I'm assuming shooter error and maybe I was still getting my technique down...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-hxUV1HYndkY/T7bRTBPyp3I/AAAAAAAAjd0/JaCc8PGgRF4/s1024/IMG_20120518_110640.jpg

2nd and 3rd groups I switched to Federal Gold Medal Match and they were much more respectable. I measured them as 1" and 1/2" respectively. I adjusted the zero on my scope to get on target between the two.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-nzAs_9k0ZFY/T7bRfOSIh3I/AAAAAAAAjeM/ITmx_MgOEXY/s1024/IMG_20120518_113007.jpg

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-sobc3zjOAA8/T7bRhSi7nrI/AAAAAAAAjeU/o-aH_pVUg2w/s1024/IMG_20120518_115240.jpg

Finally I did a 5 shot string of my own hand loads (first time ever, so I was happy just to come through it unscathed). I think it came out pretty well, but I have no idea what to make of this. Is it a single 1" 5-shot group, or is it two 1/4" groups? I'd be amazed if it were the latter...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-yjJDtoUzigQ/T7bSBCQyAyI/AAAAAAAAjew/wFZizFDUA-A/s1024/IMG_20120518_121555.jpg