PDA

View Full Version : Overcharging for PPT Transfers: A Possible Bigger Problem?

ThomasMagnum
05-07-2007, 11:38 AM
First let me apologize for bringing up the dead thread from before, I just didn't want to be bombarded with "search this" or "already been discussed, look here."

I wanted to do a PPT transfer and have called around to a few places and all so far have quoted $45 or more. As I understand it, the statutory maximum is $35 no matter what. The only exception appears to be if the dealer has to hold it more than a business day after the DROS 10 days is over. Other than that there is no exception to the $35.

While I certainly understand the whole argument of "it's just $10 or $20, who cares." I agree but the fact is that the dealer has done something blatantly illegal during the transfer of your or my gun. If I'm an overzealous DA or Attorney General I could sure make a showing that the entire transfer is invalid because of the illegal transfer fee. Call me paranoid but I can just see the state coming around years from now and saying that we all have to re-DROS the guns because the previous transfer was invalid and at that future date, half of the guns were off the roster or on the list as the case may be. Again, call me paranoid but I want every t crossed and i dotted when dealing with firearms in PRK. I certainly don't want a clear violation of the statute to be recorded on paper in a transfer, that just seems like opening the door to trouble down the road.

leelaw
05-07-2007, 11:41 AM
If I go into a store and buy a toaster for $15 and pay with a $20, but only get back a $1, does that make me not own the toaster anymore?

Your concern about the DROS being invalidated because of overpayment seems a little out of place.

ThomasMagnum
05-07-2007, 11:44 AM
Point taken, but there's no law that says toasters have to cost $15 and it's illegal to charge more.

Kestryll
05-07-2007, 11:47 AM
Your DROS would not be invalid.