PDA

View Full Version : Lubricating the AR15

Caribouriver
05-18-2012, 6:09 PM
There was an informative exchange here about light oiling or wet oiling. Although old, I am new to the AR platform. I have always had the mantra: "If it slides, grease it. If it rotates, oil it." driven into my head. But that was for Garands and bolt actions. This modern stuff is new to me. Synthetic grease. Synthetic oil. I was raised on Lubriplate. I must admit, times have changed. Cars don't start on 6 volts any more. My question is, (maybe it doesn't matter), should AR15 components that slide be greased and the rotating parts be oiled? I can see that grease would attract dirt in a sandy environment. The Garand was run essentially dry in Korea during winter because of freeze up. But if you're just going to the range to punch holes in paper or ring gongs, and want your rifle to function and wear the very least, what's the best?

GMG
05-18-2012, 6:14 PM
You'll get a lot of different answers here. On my AR's I just use oil.

Munny$hot
05-18-2012, 6:31 PM
Your way works fine but in a gritty enviroment I use ATF for cleaning and lube. You can run your ar dry or wet clean but you cant run a dirty ar dry. Google BCM filthy 14 they ran an ar dirty for 33,400 rounds and only broke a couple extractors

ptroxx
05-18-2012, 7:13 PM
http://www.ar15.com/media/viewFile.html?i=33227
http://www.ar15.com/media/viewFile.html?i=33228
http://www.ar15.com/media/viewFile.html?i=33229

donba
05-18-2012, 7:52 PM
dtrox thanks an old marine building a 223...

SURVIVOR619
05-18-2012, 9:34 PM
The classic pics posted by ptroxx are great! Much obliged brother... I've previously only seen two of the three. Followed the recommendations and took my new build put yesterday... Ran flawlessly!!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Cucv
05-18-2012, 10:30 PM
Great jpg thanks for the share!

sd_shooter
05-19-2012, 6:47 AM
Mobil 1 for me.