PDA

View Full Version : Lefty Bolt Action

Chameleon Loco
05-17-2012, 9:53 PM
I am thinking about getting a bolt action but am lefthanded and though I have never shot a bolt gun the way the action works on the lefty bolt action seems eaiser for me. I have my eye on the R700 model with a detachable magazine but I dont know if they make a lefty model. Can you guys suggest some? My only requirement is that they take a detachable magazine. Also I saw the tuners add for the ruger gunsite scount and on ruger's website its says they make a lefty model. Does any one own a ruger scout rifle?

RatedPG
05-18-2012, 9:24 AM
im no expert, but being a lefty and looking to get a precision rifle as well. I can say that Remy doesn't have much in the way of left handed gear (unless you're lucky and find a shop that has one in stock, but be prepared to pay more). I know that Savage makes most of their tactical rifles both for lefty and righty. Just my .02.

Untamed1972
05-18-2012, 11:11 AM
I'm a lefty and shoot a right hander Remy bolt gun. In a way is actually seems better because you can cycle the action while maintaining your cheek weld and trigger hand position.....well at least when you're shooting bench or prone that is.

Calplinker
05-18-2012, 1:07 PM
I'm a lefty and shoot a right hander Remy bolt gun. In a way is actually seems better because you can cycle the action while maintaining your cheek weld and trigger hand position.....well at least when you're shooting bench or prone that is.

+1 This is very true. I recently put together a pecision long range rifle and after much research, talking with folks and cycling actions, I completely agree with this.

This is one of those times us lefty's have a distince advantage. With the fore end of the rifle supported on a bipod or rest and using a right handed bolt gun, we lefty's don't need to break our cheek weld or move our finger away from the trigger group. We just reach up with our right hand, cycle the action and keep firing.