PDA

View Full Version : AK Newb, Please Help

jhj32883
05-17-2012, 4:12 PM
Hello All,

I am completely new to AK rifles. Actually, I'm pretty new to firearms in general (grew up shooting with the uncles and cousins, but all I did was pull the trigger).

I am in the market for a new AK. I have decided that I wanted to purchase a complete AK instead of assembling one from a parts kit or converting another rifle. I want something that's basically ready to shoot out of the box or would take minimal (and I mean very minimal) effort and time to be ready to shoot.

I am looking very closely at the CAI Zastava PAP rifle and the CAI Wasr. They are in-stock at my LGS.

The PAP is $769 and the Wasr is $599.

I'm also considering the Arsenal SGL-21, but that won't be in stock until at least August and will run around $899.

So far the PAP is in the lead for me. It looks like it's ready to shoot out of the box. However, it does not have a bayonet lug or chrome-lined barrel.

The Wasr would be determined based upon an in-person inspection (canted sights and other defects) and I would probably have the furniture refinished by someone hopefully other than me. But it does have chrome lined barrel and bayonet lug.

The I've heard rave reviews about the Arsenal, but it won't be in-stock for a while and it comes with poly furniture. I would probably replace the furniture, but that could wait further down the line. It does have the chrome lined barrel and bayonet lug.

I believe all three would be double stack mags and be able to accept any AK47 magazines.

This rifle will basically be used for target shooting and recreation. It may be used in a home defense capacity, but not something I'm really planning on or terribly worried about.

I was wondering if any of the rifles have negative attributes as far as resale value are concerned if something bad happens and I need to flip the guns relatively quick.

Is the Arsenal SGL-21 worth the wait and extra cost?