PDA

View Full Version : Dual Residency

LOW2000
05-14-2012, 7:33 AM
Ok, say I own a home in Idaho, walk into an Idaho gun store, and purchase a pistol from them, providing all of the documents necessary to satisfy their requirements for a legal sale.

I am also a resident of CA and own a home in CA, if I want to bring that pistol (on or off roster, does it matter?) back to CA, what do I need to do?

On the OAG site, the form to be filled out is for "New" residents http://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/pdfs/firearms/forms/ab991frm.pdf? which I am not, does that not matter?

Can I just bring it here, shoot it, and enjoy it without anything being done and be 100% compliant with the law?

littlejake
05-14-2012, 8:18 AM
Do you have a state issued ID card or driver's license in both states?
(Advice -- do not answer that question)

Owning a home in two states does not confer dual residency.

You are a resident of one state or another. The concept of dual residency does not exist.

Under the Real ID Act, the DMV requires disclosure of any other state's ID or driver's license when you apply for an ID or DL -- failure to disclose and forfeit is a crime. So, if your signature line is true, you do not have ID in two states.

Let us assume you are a resident of Idaho and you also own a home in CA. You can buy a gun in Idaho and bring it to CA when you're in your 2nd home -- you don't have to file any paperwork.

Do not bring any AW or >10 round magazines.

Residency is a function of a number of questions:
Who issued your ID?
Where do you vote?
To whom do you pay taxes?
What address do you put on your federal income tax form?
What state are your vehicles registered in?

Librarian
05-14-2012, 9:12 AM