PDA

View Full Version : have a maverick 88...

KandyRedCoi
05-08-2012, 6:12 PM
best $200 ive ever spent in my life ;)

thing is im a pretty small guy...i find the factory buttstock LOP to be a tad too long, but i really want to keep it in the same configuration, no telescoping stock, no foldable stock and def NO pistol grip...what are my options?

if all else fails maybe i can buy a factory stock and cut it to size

and another thing, i would also like to use this for clays? do i need to change the bbl? i have the 18.5" security model.
if so, i found the mossberg 500 vented rib, ported, bead sight bbl. any good?

thanks im a total noob so any info would be greatly appreciated thanks!

CZ9
05-08-2012, 6:27 PM
I absolutely love my maverick 88. I have both 28" ribbed barrel I use for clays and the 18.5 for everything else. Bought it years ago for $160 (that was with the 28" only) and haven't had the need for any other shotgun.
With big5 selling the mossberg 500 combo set, usually there are people willing to part with their extra barrel every once in a while. I scored mine for 25 bucks.

mikey357
05-08-2012, 7:30 PM
best $200 ive ever spent in my life ;)

thing is im a pretty small guy...i find the factory buttstock LOP to be a tad too long, but i really want to keep it in the same configuration, no telescoping stock, no foldable stock and def NO pistol grip...what are my options?

if all else fails maybe i can buy a factory stock and cut it to size

and another thing, i would also like to use this for clays? do i need to change the bbl? i have the 18.5" security model.
if so, i found the mossberg 500 vented rib, ported, bead sight bbl. any good?

thanks im a total noob so any info would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Maybe this will help

http://www.thehighroad.org/archive/index.php/t-63943.html

p2rider426
05-08-2012, 7:32 PM
I'm jealous :( I've been wanting a 500 combo for a few months now! My 1965 1100 has too much sentimental value to me to feed it heavy loads.