PDA

View Full Version : Question about CA compliant pistol

SpceSpff
05-05-2012, 11:52 AM
Sorry if this information is somewhere already. This forum is so active that there is a lot of information to sift through. I was able to find the information about a gun, but now I need "advice" on law info.

I am on active duty in the Coast Guard. I am a California resident; I always have been. While stationed in Alaska in 2002, I bought a Sig P220 ST from a gun store. I got stationed back in California in 2004. I brought the gun with me. I did not initially register it in California. I did not know anything about having to register handguns. While doing a background for a job last year, a question was raised about "unregistered" handguns. I got spooked and immediately sent $19 to the DOJ to "register" my handgun. While researching buying a new 1911, I learned about magazine disconnects and loaded chamber indicators. My P220 does not have these.

SO- gun store employee told me I am OK having this non-CA compliant pistol because of XYZ, yadda yadda. Of course, I am looking to get a second opinion. I know nothing here is offical "legal advice", but I also know this site has an excellent reputation for knowing the laws.

Any comments are appreciated. Thanks.

REH
05-05-2012, 12:05 PM
I belive the magazine disconnects and loaded chamber indicators, became mandatory Jan 2007, for any newly designed handguns. This is California only.

sandman21
05-05-2012, 12:08 PM
Handguns moved into the state by new residents are not affected by the Roster. (http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/The_Safe_Handgun_List)

Sporty!!!!

aklover_91
05-05-2012, 12:09 PM
You're good to go.

The Roster requirements only apply to guns sold by Dealers.

SpceSpff
05-05-2012, 12:26 PM
Knew I could count on this website for solid info. But I should have known better to contact my genius friend saint sandman first....