PDA

View Full Version : I hate my Sig P226 .40 cal

GunHo
05-04-2012, 9:22 AM
Is it me or is the P226 .40 cal a difficult gun to shoot? I’m about 7 months into guns; reading, buying, shooting, Calguns, and so on. With my 4 pistols, I can honestly say I’m a better shot today than 7 months ago, “except with my P226”. In last weekend’s range session, I was cheesing ear to ear with my group results, up until I started shooting the P226. I tried gripping hard, then gripping light, then adjusting my sight, and still, it was all over the place. Throughout the week, I kept thinking, “what the hell”. Last night, I finally broke down and ran to the local Target Master indoor range to redeem myself. Sadly enough, I ended up with even worse results. I really hate this gun.

After getting home from the range, I ordered a stainless steel guide rod to add some weight in the front and some Hogue rubber grips to replace the hard plastic OEM feel. I swear, if still no improvements with these changes, you’ll be seeing the gun in the marketplace.

http://i1253.photobucket.com/albums/hh581/testarija/P1000406.jpg

Eddie916
05-04-2012, 9:24 AM
You could always just sell it... some guns don't work for people... I can't shoot 1911's.. so....

GunHo
05-04-2012, 9:28 AM
You could always just sell it... some guns don't work for people... I can't shoot 1911's.. so....

Really? The 1911 is my favorite... Let me guess, you have a P226 and that's you're favorite?

huckberry668
05-04-2012, 9:34 AM
How bad were your groups and at what distance? Maybe the gun is defective. That's known to happen. I'd say bench the gun on a sandbag and have someone else shoot it just so it's objective.

P226 is one of best handling guns out there. It's hard not to at least shoot to your ability.

liketoshoot
05-04-2012, 9:38 AM