PDA

View Full Version : Sig P226 Sight Adjustment

GunHo
04-30-2012, 12:03 PM
My P226 sights are off. This was my 1st gun 6 months ago and as a beginner, I would be considered a fool trying to blame my sights for my terrible shooting results. Well, 6 months and 6 guns later, I have evidence to blame the sights now. I have 2 other pistols with adjustable rear sights that I group with pretty well. I shot the P226 exact same way and it was going way left and low.

This is how I have to line up my sights to hit my target:

http://i1253.photobucket.com/albums/hh581/testarija/SightAlignment03.jpg

Any Sig owners have a similar experience? Better question; any Sig owners with the same problem fix/adjust their sights? Would really appreciate your advise.

sonnyt650
04-30-2012, 12:20 PM
For my P226 I initially had to similarly lollipop the front dot over the top of the rear sight, though I've since been able to get it much closer without changing out the sights. Shooting from a rest or using one of those laser bore sighters the sights are almost perfectly spot on, so it was just me. There was some question in my mind whether heavy bullets (180gr) could cause such a change in POI, however after working on trigger pull via lots of dry firing the recoil anticipation in my hold went away.

AeroEngi
04-30-2012, 12:29 PM
Send it to Sig and have them fix it.

Sig Marine
04-30-2012, 12:31 PM
The rule of thumb is to move your rear sight in the SAME direction you want your POI (point of impact) to move. So, since your weapon is shooting left, move the rear sight to the right. Front sights can also be moved but in the OPPOSITE direction. Moving the rear sight will affect POI more than the front. I typically move both sights in their respective directions unless one of the sights is clearly off-center in their dovetail.