PDA

View Full Version : Here's a tough question about importer and military

SgtD22
04-29-2012, 6:30 AM
I don't mean to make this a life story but just need to start with a little background. I had my CA lisence suspended when I was 16. Enlisted at 17 from my mothers HOR in PA. While stationed in CA I went to the DMV to reapply now 20, and since it was only suspended for a year they gave it right back. My mother moved to AZ, which I now claim as my HOR, two years ago. I purchased a Glock in AZ and is legally "not registered" per the law. I want to keep it at my home in San Diego Ca. Per PC 17000 I don't have to register handguns if I'm stationed in CA but have a HOR in another state. However, since it's not registered in AZ I don't want to have issues if for some reason the police want to run a s/n check. And i dont have proof right then and there that im an Az resident.This all boils down to, I have had my CA DL for 5 years, when I go to register it via ca handgun importer form, sent directly to DOJ, is that going to raise the bull**** flag.

NiteQwill
04-29-2012, 7:10 AM
NO. The CA DOJ could care less how long you've had it, as long as you register it.

RickD427
04-29-2012, 3:02 PM
First of all - Thanks for your service to our country.

Second - Sleep well, there's nothing to worry about in your posting. There is no requirement, in California, for your weapon to be registered in your HOR state if you're claiming the military exemption from California's personal importer reporting requirement.