PDA

View Full Version : Going to buy a .22 rifle and have some questions

Bert Gamble
04-27-2012, 12:00 AM
Greetings,

I have decided that I need to add at least one .22 rifle to my collection. The purpose will be mostly fun, but it will also be a hunting rifle for small game if the need ever arises. I have read that the .22 is a must have in every preparedness scenario.

I am pretty new to guns, but have bought a few. Normaly I lean towards the higher dollar items, but I don't know if that is really necessary where the .22 is concerned.

I am hoping that you experienced guys can steer me in the right direction on a rifle and scope. When I look online, there are just so many choices that I get confused. I could probably find a good rifle, but the scope is where I get lost.

I recently bought a 30-06 that I haven't fired yet. I bought it mostly because it already had a scope and I didn't have to try to pick one out.

I would also appreciate any tips on how to mount and adjust the scope.

Thanks

KandyRedCoi
04-27-2012, 2:14 AM
Ruger 10/22 With a Simmons Magnum 22 scope and Usgi sling...done

Hallucinosis
04-27-2012, 2:18 AM
I think your choice depends heavily on what features you want.

Decide what your must have features are and what features you might like to have and you can significantly pair down your options from there.

Magazine fed or tube loader?
Wood stock or composite/other?
Barrel detachment for backpack transport desired?
Ability to accept .22 short and long in addition to the standard long rifle?
How significant are your concerns on weight?
Are you interested in modifying the gun for better performance or do you favor out of box performance?
Do you need extended magazines?
Do you want a semi-automatic rifle, or would you prefer lever action/bolt action?
Good stock sites required, or willing to upgrade?
Will you clean the gun regularly after use?