PDA

View Full Version : Should I be hesitant to send my SSE pistol in for service?

2nd Shot
04-24-2012, 8:59 PM
So awhile back, I bought a SSE Desert Eagle. It's a 100 yard tack driving, 6 foot fireball making hand cannon. The problem is that it has a consistent last round jam problem that has NOT been solved by repeatedly changing magazine springs, or buying a whole new MRI magazine, as well as other tricks like installing the longer spring from a Promag to try to maintain control over feeding that last round. I'm a machinist and a diehard tinkerer, but realized I had better send this one in and let the people who build it deal with it.

The real question here, is what happens if I send my SSE pistol out to MRI, and they take a look at my address and refuse to return my now semiautomatic pistol? I know you can buy a DE44CA and put the .50AE barrel on it, but this gun was and still is a DE50BC.

Do I have any legal recourse that doesn't involve paying a lawyer more than the gun is worth? Should I just not worry about it?

billped
04-24-2012, 10:02 PM
The issue is a dealer's inability to sell a non-roster gun - the SSE takes care of that. After you own it, unless the gun is called out specifically as evil, I think you're fine.

Ron-Solo
04-24-2012, 10:45 PM
Some manufacturers, even though legal, will not send an off roster gun back to a California resident. You need to confirm with the manufacturer before sending it back.

tal3nt
04-24-2012, 11:12 PM
+1^^^^ The only way to be absolutely sure

jessegpresley
04-24-2012, 11:57 PM
Just to make sure, you mentioned Promag, they make the crappiest mags in the world. Eliminate any Promag parts in the equation first. Good luck.

Aznatama
04-25-2012, 2:53 AM
it's not illegal to own a off-roster pistol.

MFG unwilling to send a pistol to CA just because... for example... an AZ resident moved to CA? how sad...

code33
04-25-2012, 9:11 AM