PDA

View Full Version : Scope base/ring questions

Generic
04-23-2012, 9:31 PM
Noob here with my first bolt action. I don't have any experience with scopes, bases or rings. I ordered a Leupold VX-3 3.5-10x40mm to go on top of a Tikka T3. Using the online tool at Natchez, it recommends medium size rings for this scope/gun. On Luepold's website, they recommend using the lowest size ring. What is common? I was looking at the Leupold base and rings. Should I also look at different brands? If so, which? Thoughts on the DNZ one piece? Thanks for any input.

IVC
04-24-2012, 4:33 PM
In general, you want the lowest possible rings to mount the scope without touching the barrel. At 40mm you are in between medium and low - it will depend on the manufacturer. Medium is a sure bet.

When it comes to bases, decide on what type of the mounting system you want before deciding on the manufacturer. If you go with the integrated base/ring you won't be able to change or remove scope without disassembling your setup, which will require you to align everything again including zeroing the scope. Most of the two piece setups will allow you to remove and reattach the scope without losing zero. The "quick detach" systems will let you remove scope without tools in the field. This is handy in several scenarios: (1) when you have backup iron sights and want to shoot with them; (2) when you break your scope and want to use backup irons; (3) when you break your scope and want to use another scope which you previously zeroed in as a backup. Note that you can do all of the above with the non-QD rings, but you would need tools.

Of other brands, Talleys are very nice (proprietary) bases and rings. You can't go wrong with Leupolds either. I would stay away from one piece systems on a hunting rifle. This is just my 2c.

Generic
04-24-2012, 6:21 PM