PDA

View Full Version : No bolt lock back


knkali
04-22-2012, 10:36 AM
New s&w 15 bought 3 new mags from Colt and only one mag will allow the bcg to lock back/open after the last round. Is there a simple tweak I can try? Thanks

knkali
04-22-2012, 11:56 AM
mistake they are Promags with green followers

ExtremeX
04-22-2012, 12:08 PM
Do you have a magpul bad lever by any chance?

FeuerFrei
04-22-2012, 1:07 PM
manually locks back?
type of ammo?
lubricated rifle?

imho i would ditch/return promags and get some magpul pmags with limiters instead. assuming its a BB'd rifle.

knkali
04-22-2012, 1:20 PM
I do have a BAD like add on from Tactical Link. I will remove it and try it again.

knkali
04-22-2012, 1:22 PM
manually locks back?
type of ammo?
lubricated rifle?

imho i would ditch/return promags and get some magpul pmags with limiters instead. assuming its a BB'd rifle.

lubricated=yes
tried 2 brands of ammo(one 223 and the other 5.56
Manually locks back=yes

FeuerFrei
04-22-2012, 1:28 PM
223 brand?
556 brand?

ExtremeX
04-22-2012, 2:01 PM
I do have a BAD like add on from Tactical Link. I will remove it and try it again.

I had one, and had intermittent issues with the bolt locking back on the last round. When I took it off, the problem went away completely...

It didn't matter what type of ammo I was using, .223, Wolf, M193 or M855... same results with all types.

You should try it w/o, I just load 1-2 rounds per mag for testing.

I am currently looking for a fix to this as well because I prefer having the bad lever installed.

knkali
04-22-2012, 4:15 PM
it was the BAD lever. Removed it, grabbed the two mags that had probs and they were fine. THANK YOU!

ExtremeX
04-22-2012, 4:41 PM
No problem, glad you got it sorted out.

knkali
04-23-2012, 7:25 AM
sent e-mail to Tactical Link to hear what they have to say about this. Not sure they want a product out there that can cause some people who rely on their set ups to have a situation like this happen to them. Working on a type one malfunction when there isnt a type one could be costly.

knkali
04-23-2012, 8:28 AM
Here is the reply. You decide if you want to run a battery assist device on your system. Seems they are aware of the situation:

Thanks for letting us know if this issue.



You may want to replace the bolt catch/release spring. We’ve seen this problem completely resolved after doing such. A good spring that comes to mind is the one Colt uses.



Let us know if we can be of further assistance.