PDA

View Full Version : my m1 garand is rusting!

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 10:44 PM
hey guys i have a small problem. i have a beautiful m1 garand, from december of 1944 with an original walnut stock with one minute scratch. the gun is absolutely beautiful and a pure joy to shoot. however i went on a camping trip in the winter with it and we were exposed to some harsh, damp conditions, and now i am noticing small amounts of rust under the barrel, between the gas tube. i am a college student so i cannot afford a safe, and have been keeping it in a padded shotgun case. i take pride in cleaning and maintaining my gun with as much attention to detail as possible, and it is tearing me up to see this gun starting to rust. what should i do.

TheHammerOfTruth
04-19-2012, 11:01 PM
Get it out of that case and put it into a "sack-up" or some other type of treated sock. A padded case will absorb and store moisture just like a sponge. Treat your metal with "Rust Hunter" products and you should be good.

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 11:05 PM
thank you! but what is a sack-up?

NoHeavyHitter
04-19-2012, 11:12 PM
Guns need to be cleaned and lubricated periodically even during extended storage.

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 11:25 PM
i have been told to use a solvent that breaks up copper in the barrel, but i am wary of putting anything corrosive into the gun, much less the barrel.

Merc1138
04-19-2012, 11:33 PM
I thought you had a rust problem, why would you be worried about copper? Copper solvents are for copper(and oxidized copper is green if that's what you're worried about).

Stop using padded cases for extended storage, they are for transport. As someone said, they absorb moisture and hold it right next to your gun.

Sack-ups, gun socks, silicone impregnated fabric sleeves, etc. They're basically all the same thing. If you insist on keeping it in a padded case, put it in a sock so you at least have a barrier.

CC Gunsmithing
04-19-2012, 11:37 PM