PDA

View Full Version : can i buy an acr out of state?

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 10:17 PM
hello everybody, i am new to cal guns, but i am not new to firearms, or shooting, and have been reading your posts for years and find them invaluable. that being said i need your help. i am going out of state for vacation in a couple months, and i want to purchase and ACR from a gun store out of state, convert it to a California legal ACR (fixed stock, get rid of the 30 round mag, and a bullet button) and i am wondering if this is legal. im going to bring the parts i mentioned with me, so at no point will i be bringing an "assault" weapon into California. i will convert it out of state. from what i can tell this is legal, but i want to be very sure of what i am doing. :gunsmilie:

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 10:18 PM
[QUOTE=patriotcowboy;8438562]hello everybody, i am new to cal guns, but i am not new to firearms, or shooting, and have been reading your posts for years and find them invaluable. that being said i need your help. i am going out of state for vacation in a couple months, and i want to purchase and ACR from a gun store out of state, convert it to a California legal ACR (fixed stock, get rid of the 30 round mag, and a bullet button) and i am wondering if this is legal. im going to bring the parts i mentioned with me, so at no point will i be bringing an "assault" weapon into California. i will convert it out of state. from what i can tell this is legal, but i want to be very sure of what i am doing. :gunsmilie:

drifter2be
04-19-2012, 10:22 PM
You cannot buy a firearm in any state that is not your state of residence. If you are a CA resident, you cannot go to another state and purchase a firearm there.

patriotcowboy
04-19-2012, 10:26 PM
i thought that the federal law was that if the gun complies with both states law, it was legal.

SuperSet
04-19-2012, 10:31 PM