PDA

View Full Version : Ask your AR Questions

Pages : [1] 2

calishine
04-18-2012, 10:31 PM
I haven't been visiting centerfire rifles as much as I used to, and I'm seeing a lot of AR threads asking about a variety of things, from gear recommendations to parts availability.

I am by no means an expert (not even close), but I'll try to answer your questions or at least point you in the right direction. There are also members on here who have forgotten more about the AR platform than I'll ever know, who I'm sure will chime in. I hope people contribute to this thread and answer questions for fellow members as well. Ask away!

empty the mag
04-18-2012, 10:33 PM
Where the Heck is all the AR parts?

calishine
04-18-2012, 10:35 PM
LOL, my educated guess is a combination of people stocking up in anticipation of a perceived potential weapons bann or shortage. In effect, it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Tax season just ended, and a lot of folks do tend to buy gun related items around this time of the year.

additionally, you have a lot of manufacturers trying to fill their orders from shot show.

Is there a particular part you're looking for?

send it_hit
04-18-2012, 10:38 PM
here's one i had on the mind today:

are troy and DD the only ones that make 12" rails for a carbine length barrel, with a space for the front site?

I like this one so much, but the price is killing me...

https://danieldefense.com/rail-systems/omega-x-rail/omega-x-railtm-12-0-fsp-carbine.html

monk
04-18-2012, 10:42 PM
I wanna know when PSA is going to restock their magpul moe foliage stock kit....

Honestly the only question I had early this morning was answered by an older post. "Is it ok to leave your bullet-buttone'd AR/AK without a magazine, such as when transporting? No. The AR/AK should have a magazine in the magwell unless you are switching out mags at the range."

send it_hit
04-18-2012, 10:43 PM