PDA

View Full Version : Troy's MRF-308 13.8 Battle Rail Question


connorr93
04-14-2012, 6:43 PM
Does the .308 rail use a different barrel nut and wrench than the standard AR15 rail?

osis32
04-14-2012, 8:08 PM
Yes both the armalite wrench and the dpms .308 wrench are different from the ar15 and each other. You would need the dedicated wrench.

connorr93
04-14-2012, 8:49 PM
You know where i can find one? I cant seem to find one anywhere.

osis32
04-14-2012, 8:51 PM
I don't. I don't know what pattern they use. You can call troy and ask. I'm surprised they don't have anything on their site.

CIV Tactical
04-14-2012, 9:01 PM
I recently did a JD LR 308 upper build and my standard ar15 armorers wrench fit the barrel nut just like the 5.56. The 308 barrel nut will be bigger but the wrench lugs should still fit. I even ordered the 308 armorers wrench and when I received it I realized it was the same size as my 5.56 wrench. Troy might have a special assembly unique to there product and as mentioned before its a good idea to call.

CIV Tactical
04-15-2012, 8:20 AM
I looked up the troy 308 barrel nut. The standard armorers wrench should work.

FeuerFrei
04-15-2012, 12:13 PM
I looked up the troy 308 barrel nut. The standard armorers wrench should work.

correct.
i just did one a couple weeks ago.

GettoPhilosopher
04-15-2012, 3:20 PM
Echo everything people said above. Bigger nut, same size lugs, just use your standard armorer's wrench.

The MRF rail mounts around the barrel nut with screws.

connorr93
04-19-2012, 6:58 AM
The armors wrench is so dang expensive tho. Almost $50 I wonder if troys standard wrench will work. I know their site specifically says it will not work but like mentioned above its the same size lugs just different size nut. Has anyone tried it?

GettoPhilosopher
04-19-2012, 12:55 PM
Everyone needs an armorer's wrench. It does barrel nuts, FF tubes, castle nuts, flash hiders, buffer tubes...

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

Arnelcheeze
04-21-2012, 12:13 PM
mine came with the barrel nut, but i was told it didn't. standard Ar15 wrench will work depending on the profile of your barrel.

connorr93
04-21-2012, 12:18 PM
mine came with the barrel nut, but i was told it didn't. standard Ar15 wrench will work depending on the profile of your barrel.

Yep. I just received mine as well and it did also.