PDA

View Full Version : Private party purchasing out of state

67Charger
04-22-2007, 5:25 PM
I need the short and skinny on acquiring firearms out of state via private party sale, and LEGALLY transferring them here.

Can I conduct a private party sale, take the firearm to an FFL in that state, have them transfer it to an FFL here in CA, and then pick it up on this end? Does the seller need to be involved, or can I take care of it myself after the deal?

Sorry if it has been beat to death, but I'm new to CA law.

SemiAutoSam
04-22-2007, 5:29 PM
Not legal to do what your suggesting. without at least a C & R FFL.

bwiese
04-22-2007, 5:53 PM
Can I conduct a private party sale, take the firearm to an FFL in that state, have them transfer it to an FFL here in CA, and then pick it up on this end? Does the seller need to be involved, or can I take care of it myself after the deal?

What you have stated above implies that you would take possession out of state, which is essentially a no-no under Fed law (as shaped by CA law).

To be squared away, what you do instead is pay the seller directly, but do not directly accept the firearm. Instead, you have the seller of the gun send it to CA dealer with current FFL. (Only one FFL needs to be in the chain, and you need an FFL for the sale in CA anyway, so it might as well be an FFL here: there's no requirement for an FFL on each end.)

Your out-of-state party can validate that the CA FFL is currently licensed, and that he is sending it to a valid licensee address, thru the BATF E-Z-Chek website - he just needs a few digits from the CA FFL's license number to key into the website, which the CA FFL should be happy to provide you and/or the seller.

After FFL receives gun(s), you then go to the CA dealer, fill out the paperwork, pay the fees, and take delivery after 10 day waiting period is complete.

Now, there's a couple of caveats here: