PDA

View Full Version : C&r???

tmuller
04-19-2007, 3:32 PM
I've tried the search and I don't have time to read everything with C&R in it and nothing shows up under FAQ. I'm new to CA...can someone tell me what this is. Thanks!!

Kestryll
04-19-2007, 3:40 PM
In general firearms terms 'C&R' refers to weapons that are 'Curio & Relics'.
These are items that either through age, unusualness or historic value are regulated in a different manner than newer or current firearms.

You can apply to the BATFE and get a Class 03 FFL (Federal Firearms License) and buy and trade C&R eligible items with other collectors.
A rifle or handgun is considered to be 'C&R eligible' on a National level when the BATFE adds it o the list of C&R weapons.
Here in California there are other strictures that apply as well.

That's a basic overview of what a C&R weapon is in it's most usd format on a gun board. I hope this helps but if it doesn't ask some more questions and those with a better grasp on it will have answers! ;)

tmuller
04-19-2007, 5:16 PM
curio and relics...I'm from AZ and when I think of Class 3 I think of machine guns and supressors. What are the benefits of having C&R and is this a different type of Class 3 than that required to get machine guns and silencers? How difficult is it to obtain this liscense? Is it the same finger print cards one to my local sherrif and one to the ATF? I don't need a machine gun or silencer but I love wheel guns and I'm not sure what's on the CA list...all this is a bit confusing to me so far. Another case of CA resident trying to abide by law and struggling to find out what the law even is. Icalled DOJ and SD county SO and they keep telling me to call each other. At one point I got the number to a woman in Sac and she told me that it was impossible to get class 3 in CA and that's why I sold some of my fun toy b4 I left AZ. Thanks again for the help guys...any more info would be greatly appreciated.

Can'thavenuthingood
04-19-2007, 5:25 PM