PDA

View Full Version : Do you guys consolidate caliber or have one of each?

Bull's_eye
03-28-2012, 11:03 PM
So I've been buying guns for about a year now, and just recently got my first handgun. Of course I want more.

I haven't decided yet exactly what my next one is going to be, but I have kind of narrowed it down to either a 9mm or a revolver (still tons of options to choose from either way).

Right now, I kind of feel like I want to get one of everything to try it out. I want a 9mm, a .357, a .44 magnum, a .40, full size, compacts, etc. Maybe this is because I'm still fairly new to this game. I feel like they all have their place and it's a matter of picking the right tool for the job.

I have also read a lot about people that consolidate their collections down to one or two calibers to share ammo, and that makes sense to me too. For example, say you have a ccw and want to carry a larger gun for certain attire, a compact for other situations, or even a full size and a small back up gun, it makes sense to me for them to share ammo. Buy one type, shoot it often get to know it and be good with it.

Just curious to see what everyone does and your reasoning for doing so.

Arkangel
03-29-2012, 5:58 AM
I feel like they all have their place and it's a matter of picking the right tool for the job.

My thoughts exactly...

I started with just 40's, then added .45. Now I'm adding 9mm's. I haven't added any revolvers yet, but I'm sure that won't be true for too long :)

Oceanbob
03-29-2012, 6:25 AM
Several of each. You can never have too many guns or too much ammunition. :)

Just buy quality mainstream weapons and you will do fine.

Be well, Bob

ckprax
03-29-2012, 6:29 AM
Usually people consolidate calibers so they can buy a lot of ammo in a couple of calibers instead a box or two of each. If you reload than it's not a big deal. I reload so you know what camp I'm in.