PDA

View Full Version : how do you clean your precision rifle after a shooting session

cqbdude
03-21-2012, 3:46 PM
Now that I started to reload .308, I am finding myself shooting my bolt action rifle more often.

Could you guys and gals help/show me your process for cleaning your barrel?

At this time, I just run my boresnake a couple of times since I only shoot 25 to 30 rounds per session.

I also have a nylon rod and a boreguide for my rifle.

What solvent do you recommend?

Thanks in advance..

sd joe
03-21-2012, 3:50 PM
Don't over think it, just clean the gun. I have been shooting for 25 years and if I only shot 25-30 rounds the gun would not get cleaned.

rtc111
03-21-2012, 3:58 PM
Here's what i do, i reload for a semi auto so ill leave out the stuff that doesn't pertain to you.

1.) with a cleaning rod and jag, push a patch threw of hoopes #9, let sit for 5 min.
2.) screw on a brass brush and go one way (all the way out of the barrel), go back and for 3 or four times.
3.) Continue to use jag and hoopes going back and forth until the patches start coming out clean.
4.) than put a dry patch threw followed by a wet one, let the #9 sit for 10 to 15 minutes. do this once or twice.
5.) put a few patches threw of shooters choice (for me it cleans better than hoopes but is more expensive thats why i use it at the end.)
6.) For a super good clean i'll use bore tech copper eleminator and the end of all this to remove any tough fauling, dont let this stuff sit to long in your barrel and follow close instructions.
7.) 1 patch of a fine gun oil
I know its a lot, but to get a really good clean thats what you have to do. I clean mine every 17-20 shots.. no use testing your reloads with a dirty barrel.

CSACANNONEER
03-21-2012, 4:04 PM