PDA

View Full Version : noob getting into long range target shooting , help with your experience

04chase
03-17-2012, 10:44 PM
im a novice shooter at best and have a small collection of guns im starting to grow . (nothing special yet , hk usp 40 compact,rem 870 , desert eagle .44 mag/.50ae. and my new billet upper/lower ar-15 with spikes piston upper in 223. and its alot of fun and is what sparks my interest)

i am not reloading yet but will be doing reasearch on it and may jump on it soon .

i want to get into longer range shooting, 600-900 yds will probably be most of the time but id like to be able to go out to 1200-1500 yds on a great day .

ive noted im a noob so please help me out , if been steered towards .300 winchester, .308 , and possibly .30-06 . since they are all not over the top expensive for off the shelf ammo. however are the capable of my wants?

being new i do have the big penis big bore syndrome so naturally barrett has my eye (the .416 ) but after researching ammo i doubt ill go that route but not completely ruled out if i start reloading . (i like the m99 over the 82a1 for price and consistancy)

the round that really has my attention is the .338 lapua , expensive off the shelf but have been told reloading isnt too bad. so if i get to reloading (which will also help with reloading for the DE) i like this alot . the savage 110ba is definatly a nice rifle and i have held one and liked it alot .

so if anyone can enlighten me on other rounds to consider as well as the once i have mentioned , i have heard cheytec but havent looked into it either . im very open and not set on anything . budget isnt too big of a concern on rifle/glass but on ammo it will be .

also being from so cal finding somewhere near by isnt always real easy.

thanks for taking time to read this and please dont rape me to bad .

brando
03-18-2012, 1:18 AM