PDA

View Full Version : HELP - PLEASE

icenix
03-13-2012, 9:09 PM
In this ammo: PMC Bronze .223A Remington 55grain FMJ BT

What does the BT stand for?

Also, has anyone used PRVI Partizan ammo? How did it do? Made of steel?

Maybe a dumb question, but can you shoot match ammo out of any barrel or only match barrels? I really don't have any experience with anything match.

Am I correct that anything with a tracer or green colored tip can't be bought and shot in CA?

Any quick help would be appreciated. Thanks

Prc329
03-13-2012, 9:14 PM
I think it means boat tail.

icenix
03-13-2012, 9:21 PM
I think it means boat tail.

You will have to forgive me, I am far from an expert when it comes to ammo types. Does the BT really matter to me shooting at the range, or like is there another version or type I should be getting instead? Or is the BT just the fine print that doesn't need to matter to me?

.45JHP
03-13-2012, 9:21 PM
Wow...where to begin here. BT stands for boat tail. There are quite a few benefits to this design, but generally the boat tail design of the bullet helps with ballistics and accuracy at longer ranges. I'm not a subject matter expert on these, but you can find lots of info about them online- or if someone else cares to chime in on this.

Partizan ammo is a really good alternative to M855 and M193. It's also milspec.

Tracers and incendiary are illegal in CA, green tips are ok. Keep in mind that there is a federal ban on military surplus ammo, so most of the green tip penetrator ammo you see on the market is typically overruns. XM855 green tip ammo can be bought by pretty much anyone, its basically M855 military ammo that did not pass military testing for one reason or another- perfectly safe to use. In fact most civilian "surplus" ammo is XM855. The same goes for XM193- just military ammo repackaged for civilian usage.

Search for "ammo oracle" on google, it'll answer pretty much all of your questions in detail.

cutty01
03-13-2012, 9:22 PM