PDA

View Full Version : Proof of Residency

Sgriob
03-12-2012, 4:40 PM
I'm new, so apologies if this obvious and boring. I spent an hour two in Turner's Reseda this morning trying to buy a Ruger. Did the H@C, showed license, car registration and my Green Card showing that I've been a legal resident for decades. (What can I tell you? I'm a journalist for another country). Then we got stuck on the issue of proof of residency.

I've lived in the same home for 20 years, but because I travel a lot and because I'm lazy, the wife handles utility bills. The only utility that has my name on it is the garbage bill. Is that acceptable to the DOJ, do you think? Will anything else do?

Thanks for your feedback.

(Seems dumb and unfair that I might be denied the right to protect myself with a handgun just because the wife pays the bills for me. And maybe have to pay a $107 cancellation fee.)

philobeddoe
03-12-2012, 4:47 PM
I don't have any utility bills in my name either, I show a US Passport (proof of US Citizenship and ID), CDL (State Issued ID), and bring the registration for a motorcycle (CA residency) and lease paperwork for my truck (CA residency).

None of this makes any sense to me, it's just how I do it.

BretByron
03-12-2012, 4:52 PM
Iv'e only ever used my vehicle Reg. and that was all that was needed. Your physical isn't on your Registration? My I.D. only shows my P.O. Box. and the Reg. was good enough.

CZ97B
03-12-2012, 5:04 PM
Same with me, I have always just had to show my vehicle registration.

However I have also started saving my PG&E bills now, in case I want to buy something new, and the date on the vehicle registration falls past 1 or 2 months new.

Sgriob
03-12-2012, 5:19 PM