PDA

View Full Version : 4473 and California Questions

Colonel Monk
03-05-2012, 8:29 PM
Howdy All:

As mentioned in another thread, I'm new to the FFL paperwork and have just started working for a friend part-time to make certain that his paperwork is up to snuff.

I took a look on the search, and have read the FAQs on ATF's site but I'm not finding the CA - specific info I'm looking for.

All the doc packages are filled out the same (basically) but I'm confused why section B of our 4473s have NOT been used. I asked my FFL friend (boss) about this, and he was told by another friend and FFL something to the effect that it wasn't necessary in conjunction with the CA DROS.

Can someone shed some light on this? Normally when I see a gov't form I'm expecting that it needs to be filled out in full unless I have from the Gov't a written reason NOT to fill it out completely.

Seems to me, that section A and box 16/17 should be complete before the DROS is run, then section B filled out by FFL, and then when buyer takes possession of firearm Section C signature and date from buyer, followed by Section D with Firearms and Seller details...

If anyone has an example 4473 filled out to go with a DROS that would be really helpful.

As we haven't done much business yet (and all with acquaintances) this should be fairly easy to remedy, but I'd like to know just how it should be done so we can get it right from here out. I mean, we have all the right information in the combined packet, I'm just not sure we have it arranged properly.

Thanks,

CM

Colonel Monk
03-06-2012, 8:15 AM
I installed the e4473 application last night, and filling one out, it would not let me skip section B which indicates that it must be filled out.

Just looking for a little reinforcement from the FFL community before we change our process.

Thanks.

CM

EBR Works
03-06-2012, 8:56 AM