PDA

View Full Version : Joining a Federal LE Agency Questions(USSS)

SilverTauron
03-05-2012, 3:53 PM
Im a college student who is about 2 years away from graduating with a degree in Economics, with 4 years of military service and a clean record in every respect,including nothing expunged or sealed in my past. There are two issues non-criminal related to my background, but ill get to those in a minute.

Ive decided that joining the US Secret Service's financial crimes unit would be a good way to combine my desire to do some lasting good with my life and use my education to the best I can. What steps do I need to take now , two years from graduation, to become a compelling candidate for a position with the USSS?

As to the non-criminal issues at this time, one is an ongoing divorce on the part of my parents and a crappy financial history. I can adress the finances before I graduate, but my former stepdad has a criminal record I never knew about until my mom informed me of the divorce. Will either stand as enough reason to round file my application, or will I stand a chance despite these issues?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

socalblue
03-05-2012, 4:22 PM
Your financial issues will be the most important. Clean them up ASAP & stay that way.

On the family side, unless he was involved in organized crime or other major criminal activities that you could or should have known about, simple disclosure should clear that up with no drama.

Lastly, look at the FBI instead of USSS if you want to investigate financial crimes - MUCH better opportunity & a far better organization.

bobfried
03-05-2012, 5:01 PM