PDA

View Full Version : McDonald > Palmer

Peaceful John
03-05-2012, 12:05 PM
To the attorneys:

Because McDonald incorporated Heller, if Palmer is decided favorably is it automatically also incorporated as to the States?

Cordially,
John

(Cross-posted on MDShooters)

BlindRacer
03-05-2012, 12:16 PM
I think I asked this same exact question quite a while ago, but I don't remember if I got a real clear answer.

As a non lawyer, I would think it's obvious that it should. So therefor, I bet it does not. That's how it works, right?

wildhawker
03-05-2012, 12:22 PM
No.

BlindRacer
03-05-2012, 12:24 PM
No.

I knew it! Do I win a cookie?

Scarecrow Repair
03-05-2012, 3:40 PM

You won't be able to carry it legally in a holster until Palmer is incorporated.

kcbrown
03-05-2012, 6:34 PM
Even when it gets incorporated against the states (via a Supreme Court ruling), it won't mean much until the various laws at the various state levels are challenged. Until that point, those laws stay on the books and will continue to be enforced.

It's one of the things I really hate about our system of "law". :mad:

BlindRacer
03-06-2012, 10:05 AM
Even when it gets incorporated against the states (via a Supreme Court ruling), it won't mean much until the various laws at the various state levels are challenged. Until that point, those laws stay on the books and will continue to be enforced.

It's one of the things I really hate about our system of "law". :mad:

Wow! That is messed up!

So you basically can still be arrested, brought to trial, and use the SCOTUS rulings as your defense, and could still possibly be found guilty with the judges completely ignoring SCOTUS, because they didn't like the decision!?!

That's not law/justice. That's a totalitarian police state. :facepalm:

Window_Seat
03-06-2012, 10:14 AM
Incorporation does not happen on the federal level.

I should rephrase that as it doesn't address the question...