PDA

View Full Version : AR 15

Doc.Sil
03-04-2012, 1:51 PM
Hello,

I am going to start pulling together pieces for my first AR in a couple months, and wanted to start getting my finished product finalized.

I am looking at this upper: http://www.lefthandrifles.com/cgi-bin/imcart/display.cgi?item_id=upper18&cat=6&page=1&search=&since=&status=&title=

I am a lefty shooter. I know many say just shoot a righty rifle, but if I'm paying for something I want it built for me.

I am pretty unfamiliar with lowers, and can use any sort of input/advice there.

My biggest concern is of course getting everything CA legal. To be honest I am not sure how hard it is to avoid Penal Code 12276.1 and would greatly appreciate any tips on getting my new AR CA legal.

Thanks about it, thanks in advance and I look forward to learning some useful AR facts.

I am new to owning, but have been shooting since a kid, got a few hand guns and a bolt action 22 (of course its lefty! :cool:). I am definitely pretty unfamiliar with AR 15 parts/terminology (there's your warning :p)

icenix
03-04-2012, 2:07 PM
Well, I will sum up what most will say. All lowers are made by the same 5-6 companies and then they put the roll marks of different brands on them. They are considered to be pretty much the same, so just pick one with a roll mark you like (I picked a Spikes Tactical because I like the spider) and go with it.

CA legal basically means you have to have a bullet button or go featureless (yuck IMO). Just add a LPK (lower parts kit) and buffer tube assembly of your choice and put it together.