PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Your Guns

Dirtbikindad393
02-24-2012, 9:05 PM
So I am new to it all and was wondering what you use and how often do you clean your pistols?

I was at a gun shop today and one of the guys told me he uses a bore snake and Hoppe's after every range run. Then after that he lubes it up with the Rem oil.

Sound like a good method?

den888
02-24-2012, 9:07 PM
I use Remington 40-X bore cleaner and then CLP for lube.

PandaLuv
02-24-2012, 9:09 PM
So I am new to it all and was wondering what you use and how often do you clean your pistols?

I was at a gun shop today and one of the guys told me he uses a bore snake and Hoppe's after every range run. Then after that he lubes it up with the Rem oil.

I usually clean them after each trip, and sometimes I skip some. I never clean my AK though.

Rem oil is fine for lubricating, I use hoppe's lube and it works. If you have handguns that have a lot of metal to metal action, I recommend using grease on the rails.

Boresnake is convenient, I use it an I using the cleaning rod as well, hoppe's solvent is one of the popular product for gun owners there is, it's pretty much just kerosene.

Fishslayer
02-24-2012, 9:12 PM
I clean the pazizzle out of 'em after every range trip. 10 rounds or 200 rounds, especially if it's one of the bedside weapons.

chim-chim7
02-24-2012, 9:15 PM
Sounds fine to me.

Echidin
02-24-2012, 9:27 PM
I used Hoppes for along time, then switched to CLP and now use Froglube.

redcliff
02-24-2012, 9:40 PM
Although I wipe them down with a silicone gun cloth after touching them, I typically only clean em every two or three range sessions. Just cleaned 5 of them today though :)

I generally use Hoppes #9, CLP, Triflon and FP10 depending upon the level of cleaning needed and the particular weapon.

Dirtbikindad393
02-24-2012, 9:52 PM
What is CLP?

redcliff
02-24-2012, 10:00 PM
What is CLP?

http://www.break-free.com/

dodger fever
02-24-2012, 10:06 PM