PDA

View Full Version : Proper way to do FTF PPT?

G. Freeman
02-23-2012, 10:38 AM
Hi Guys,
I've never done a face-to-face PPT before. What is the proper way to pay or receive money that protects both the buyer and the seller?

I'd really appreciate your input. Thanks in advance!

Ripon83
02-23-2012, 10:43 AM
Don't know the "proper" way but I've bought and sold through gun shops. I arrange to meet at the gun shop, pay the buyer, or collect from the seller then do the paper work (after inspections of course). I usually call the gun shop; found one that needed an appointment to do PPT work - I don't go back there. Others say just come in.

jvc707
02-23-2012, 10:49 AM
^ what he said ^

keenkeen
02-23-2012, 11:11 AM
Brown paper bag, standard blind drop protocols apply.

Or-

Buy 2 matching breifcases, then when the day of the PPT arrives...

axel4488
02-23-2012, 11:28 AM
I prefer the monetary transaction be done outside of the gun store. Some of them try to charge sales tax on the price you are buying it for.

sfhondapilot
02-23-2012, 12:26 PM
I prefer the monetary transaction be done outside of the gun store. Some of them try to charge sales tax on the price you are buying it for.

Be sure to confirm with the FFL how much they charge for the transfer as well as the use tax exemption on PPTs. It will save you a ton of grief.

I have the money in a plain envelope and hand over the money after inspection and paperwork.

Rebellious
02-23-2012, 12:39 PM