PDA

View Full Version : Alien Residency - Handguns

jrkleinow
02-22-2012, 9:41 PM
First and foremost I want to thank everyone who will be reading this and helping me. I searched on this site/DOJ/every FAQ from various gun websites and asked workers at FFL stores yet I am having a tough time finding the answer I need.

I am a Legal Resident Alien from your neigbors to the north. In February 2012 I purchased a Shotgun from Big5 and everything went through no problem.

Current situation:
- CDL has old address on it (updated with DMV records but did not pay to get a new liscense as it is on record with the state)
- No utilities or leases are in my name
- Only thing I have that comes to current address is a monthly Credit Card statement (doesnt look like this will work for proof of residency though)
- I have my vehicle registration that is current address (paid within the last 20 days)
- I have my Vehicle Title that was recently paid with current address (within the last 60 days)
- I have insurance with current address (also doesnt look like it will work for handgun purchases)

Question:
If I were to go to DMV to get a printout of my updated change of address in paper or physically get a New liscense with updated address do I have enough information to purchase a handgun in California? (I have all of my Alien registration cards and everything else in check)

Everything seems like it is in a different language that I read and it gets increasingly confusing. Any help from this awesome community would be appreciated. Sorry again if this has been answered but I did make an honest effort to search and resolve this issue prior to posting.

MyGlock17
02-22-2012, 10:00 PM
You need 3 or 4 month POR "Proof of Residence"...I believe a Shotgun is different when it comes to buying a firearm since you can't conceal a shotgun...you don't even need your gun license to purchase a shotgun...