PDA

View Full Version : would you buy a rifle from big 5 sporting goods

03ephatch
02-22-2012, 4:48 AM
i'm new to calguns & fairly new to this hobby. i would like to get some personal input from those who have dealt with them. i was looking at a .30 cal remmington. any advice? thanks guys.

AlliedArmory
02-22-2012, 5:15 AM
Bought a shotgun from there and was perfectly fine aside from the 11 day wait instead of 10. I still generally prefer the smaller stores though.

MA2
02-22-2012, 5:19 AM
That's where I get my running shoes :)

Never bought firearms nor ammo there, but I would cross check pricing with local shops or online...

Solid Foundation
02-22-2012, 5:30 AM
If the price is right, why not?
Ultimately comes from the same place.

cdtx2001
02-22-2012, 5:34 AM
Their prices on shotguns and rifles are pretty good. I wouldn't buy ammo from them simply because it's too expensive.

My first gun was a Marlin model 70 from Big5. Paid $120 for it and I still have it.

toby
02-22-2012, 5:50 AM
NO! I buy my firearms at gun stores that cater to selling guns and not tennis shoes and basket balls, or private sales. There is no one at any Big-5 that knows dink about guns anyway, and if you have questions or concerns who's gonna help ya? IMO

Milsurps
02-22-2012, 5:53 AM
i'm new to calguns & fairly new to this hobby. i would like to get some personal input from those who have dealt with them. i was looking at a .30 cal remmington. any advice? thanks guys.

I've bought Milsurps and shotguns from them when the price was right. Yes they have a 11 day wait. No big deal. The cashiers n sales folks are pretty clueless about the guns, but the "managers" aren't to bad. YMMV

Bukowski
02-22-2012, 5:57 AM
I have bought from them in the past. They are OK if you want a cheap 10-22, shotgun, or crusty mil-surp. Just wait for a "sale" on the gun you want, everything goes on sale about once a month lol.

NapaCountyShooter
02-22-2012, 6:02 AM