PDA

View Full Version : Buying my dad a birthday gift

xpertpredator
02-21-2012, 10:21 PM
So my father's birthday is next month and I have found myself planning on purchasing him a Rock Island Arms 1911 GI. All my life he has said he wants a colt 1911, but me being a broke college student I can't provide that for him. The thing is I have a sig 2022 in jail right now till the 27th. His birthday is the 14th of march and from my understanding of the 1 handgun per 30 day rule I won't be able to dros it until the 17th, which is fine. The problem is that I want to have the slide engraved with his rank, and seabee emblem as he just retired from the Navy after 20+ years of service. I was wondering if it is possible to dros the gun on the 17th of March but take the slide and maybe the grips home with me so I can send it off to be engraved. My ultimate goal is try and give him the gun by the end of March. I am probably gonna send it off to this guy http://www.zipgraver.com/. I called him and he seemed friendly, and his work looks good. I will most likely purchase from cal arms if I can't get it on Ammo Bros. Do you guys know if I could take the slide and grips home with me while the frame is drosed? I did some research but basically have gotten different situations like PPT or it depends on the gun shop. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

winnre
02-21-2012, 10:42 PM
Just me thinking, but if he wants a colt, get him a colt.

xpertpredator
02-21-2012, 10:45 PM
Just me thinking, but if he wants a colt, get him a colt.

The ones I have seen have been a bit out of my price range. If I could afford it I would, but my budget will only allow the RIA 1911 GI. I think he will still love it, especially with the slide engraved.

xpertpredator
02-22-2012, 9:45 PM
anyone?

winnre
02-22-2012, 10:39 PM
Okay I'll say it.

It is NOT out of your price range, you just have different priorities.