PDA

View Full Version : Original seller necessary for Re-DROS after 30 day period?

kwansao
02-21-2012, 2:17 PM
Hi Guys, I hope someone can help me out with an informed opinion. I need to re-DROS three firearms at an out of town shop. It is a bit of an ordeal getting down there and to avoid wasing a day or two driving to fresno,

basically I need to know if the orignal seller's presence is necessary for when I Re-Dros these weapons. I am not a prohibited person, I was simply unable to pick them up during the first 30 day period for the dros when i purchased the firearms (through a ppt)

thanks... :cool2:

explorerdude
02-21-2012, 3:08 PM
I would say yes, since after that 30th day, that DROS is invalid; therefore the seller would have to sign the NEW DROS...

kwansao
02-21-2012, 3:21 PM
Explorerdude, are you an FFL? not to try to invalidate your input, but I would like to make sure for the sake of saving time and not wasting an entire day driving.

explorerdude
02-21-2012, 3:40 PM
If you would like to double check, ten percent has a lot of info, he always answers a lot of questions here on the FFL forum.

kemasa
02-21-2012, 3:48 PM
I am a FFL and I did not know the answer as that had never happened to me, so I called the CA DOJ. The person who answered did not know, so he had to ask someone else. The answer is that since the original DROS has the seller's signature (like a DROS worksheet), the second DROS does not need the seller's signature, but the original DROS should be attached to the new DROS.

That is not to say that the FFL will agree, but they should be able to call the CA DOJ and get the same answer. Mentioning treating the original as a DROS worksheet might also help convince the FFL that it is acceptable. I would call the FFL before going there though. It is possible that the FFL could have returned the firearms to the seller.

kwansao
02-21-2012, 4:24 PM