PDA

View Full Version : 50 bmg upper not legal to own?

whisperingdoom
02-19-2012, 12:28 PM
Someone told me "I spoke with the calif doj and they said yhe upper is not legal here. The assault weapons person said any unregistered 50cal upper or gun is illegal here."

is there a new law that prohibits us from owning a 50 BMG upper such as the Zel ands Bohica?

Does that mean If I have uppers that I use / assemble as a whole rifle out of state I am in violation of law.

bigcalidave
02-19-2012, 12:29 PM
Of course it is legal to own. The upper is just a part.

OleCuss
02-19-2012, 1:05 PM
I'm no lawyer, but so far as I can tell, as bigcalidave suggested you can own a .50 BMG upper. If you hook it up to something out of state - it's fine if it is OK with that state.

But with the level of knowledge you find with the Cal DOJ and in prosecutors, and some LEO's - you may still have legal problems from owning a .50 BMG even if you are doing so perfectly legally.

bwiese
02-19-2012, 2:48 PM
Which DOJ staffer told you this? We need to get a handle on the BS that DOJ phone clerks issue.
Did you get this verbally or in writing?
From a pure standpoint, there is no constructive possession of a "50BMG rifle" based on expresio unius (essentially,
"what is said in one statute cannot be assumed to be expressed in another": the lack of wording in the area of concern
is assumed to be legislative intent, and lack of that constructive possession wording/concept this cannot be inferred
from one area to another. This standard cits to back this stance are in California cases Gebremicael v. Calif. Comm.
on Teacher Credentialing and People v. Licas.

50BMG rifles generally have a separate but overall parallel legal treatment from AW legal matters; they are separate
entities.

There also is paperwork from DOJ Deputy AG to CA NRA lawyer Chuck Michel stating that constructive possession doesn't