PDA

View Full Version : Ruger American Rifle

DMorris2321
02-19-2012, 8:33 AM
I'm a noob and I've gotten into shooting since last July. I was thinking about getting a rifle for possible hunting and long distance range shooting. I was pretty set on a Remington 700 but saw the Ruger American Rifle and thought maybe I should start out with a rifle like this. So basically I have two questions should I give the ruger a shot or save more for the Remington 700, second should I go .308 or 30-06, if I go Remington throw 300 win mag into the mix.

Also my current guns are:

.357 ruger 3 screw blackhawk
Ar-15
Remington 870 express
XD40 4"
Ruger 10/22

toby
02-19-2012, 8:44 AM
I would skip on the new Ruger till it's proven a bit, it looks to be a random slap together from various parts of others. I'm not a Remington fan so I'll refrain on that one.

Bartin
02-19-2012, 8:59 AM
Ruger is brand new so unproven but reviews seem ok. It's definitely aimed at a price point though and if you are looking for that it's fine but if you can I would save up a bit more and take a look at a Tikka T3. That's a pretty nice collection for 6 months of being into shooting, looks like you've pretty much got your bases covered. You could stand to pick up a 91/30 though...

DMorris2321
02-19-2012, 9:31 AM
Ruger is brand new so unproven but reviews seem ok. It's definitely aimed at a price point though and if you are looking for that it's fine but if you can I would save up a bit more and take a look at a Tikka T3. That's a pretty nice collection for 6 months of being into shooting, looks like you've pretty much got your bases covered. You could stand to pick up a 91/30 though...

Thanks, I got the Blackhawk 2 years ago when my grandfather passed away but then in July I talked my wife into letting me build an Ar and it took off from there. I'll check out the Tikka and a Mosin is on my list for this year, this is what is on my list:
1. Mosin Nagant
2. .308, 30-06, or 300 win mag