PDA

View Full Version : BCG problems

erik_26
02-18-2012, 8:13 PM
I may or may not be having issues with my Bolt Carrier Group.

I have a Bushmaster upper along and factory BCG. When loaded with Lake City ammo I get a fail to fire every 10-15 rounds. There is a primer strike. But the round wont fire. A friend of mine loaded the failed to fire rounds into his Noveske and all rounds fired for him.

Ideas?

mod1217
02-18-2012, 8:20 PM
Have you tried diff ammo? It may be a weak hammer spring not really a BCG issue... And in my experience light strike ammo usually always fires the second time around except if the ammo is completely bad

bender152
02-18-2012, 8:21 PM
How many rounds have been fired on the BCG? You could try replacing the firing pin.

Ding126
02-18-2012, 8:25 PM
Is your bolt nice n wet? Bushmasters seem to have really tight BCG and need a little break in time and plenty of lube..That's been my experience with 3 rifles.

erik_26
02-18-2012, 8:27 PM
Have you tried diff ammo? It may be a weak hammer spring not really a BCG issue... And in my experience light strike ammo usually always fires the second time around except if the ammo is completely bad

No issues with Remmington, Federal, American Eagle.

I tried to fired them in my AR 2-3-4 times. My friend would pop them in his after that and they would fire for him first try.

How many rounds have been fired on the BCG? You could try replacing the firing pin.

I only have ~1000-1500 round through it.

mod1217
02-18-2012, 8:41 PM
If you fire the misfire round through you rifle that many times and have 1000-1500 rounds through it then check bender's post, check the firing pin

bender152
02-18-2012, 8:46 PM
Did this problem just start happening? A firing pin normally should not need to be replaced so soon.

mod1217
02-18-2012, 8:52 PM
Did this problem just start happening? A firing pin normally should not need to be replaced so soon.