PDA

View Full Version : Is this legal? Is it a good idea? Your input wanted :)

SAR_boats
02-17-2012, 7:08 AM
So, here is what I have done:

I have a handgun in a gunvault nanovault 300 that is bolted to the tranny hump behind the center console in my Jeep.

It is unloaded, action open.

I have loaded magazines in the seat cover pouch behind my shins.

As far as I know this is completely legal but I can have the pistol out and loaded in about 1.5 seconds should I have to. (been practicing :) )

First off, legality: I studied the laws extensively, but I wanted to get your take on the legality of this.

Second: Suggestions on how to make this setup better.

Thanks!

mdimeo
02-17-2012, 9:09 AM
There's some risk that a gun safe bolted inside the passenger compartment would be a "utility compartment" under california law. 12026.1 is the penal code section I found, but I don't know if that's been renumbered.

Is there any case law on this?

If there's no helpful case law, a safe attached with a cable might be more defensible than a safe attached with bolts to the car, in my non-lawyerly opinion.

SouperMan
02-17-2012, 9:17 AM
Kind of iffy on a lot of aspects:

1) I thought a permanent attachment of a safe violates a container rule; the container contains the firearm and for the purposes of transport the container containing the firearm ingresses/egresses the vehicle as the same. Basically, a gun in a container must stay in the container while exiting the vehicle. If the gun is removed from the vehicle with no container/lock, it's a violation. (I'll find more info on this)

2) You must be enroute to a gun range or hunting grounds, all points direct while transporting a firearm; cannot keep a firearm in the car at all times for ready access.

References:

http://wiki.calgunsfoundation.org/Transporting

Apologies for the FUD!

taperxz
02-17-2012, 9:21 AM