PDA

View Full Version : Mauser K98 authenticity help

daymare
02-14-2012, 3:06 PM
I am new to Mauser's and was looking at buying from a private seller. I was looking for a RC 98k that was still able to shoot and still has the markings. I found a rifle that is a non-RC. I just wanted to know everyone's opinion (I sent Dr. Mauser and rojocorsa pm on the subject) on this rifle was, since I am willing to pay. I am wondering if you anyone could tell if the codes match the date and factory from which it was built. I did a little research but I am not sure if I am searching correctly. Also, if the price for the rifle is fair.

The seller says it has no import mark and it is a 42 1940 marked, has a good barrel but some parts are not matching (bolt). Seller is asking $475.

Pictures:

http://imgur.com/a/sJvRr

SKSer45
02-14-2012, 3:21 PM
hmmm 475 seems a little high for non matching to me....but that's just me because me and blitz got a couple of mausers for less but haven't looked at them yet. Hopefully they are not lemons.

Here is the sight some other CG have giving me and I looked up the markings and numbers. http://mauser98k.internetdsl.pl/kodyen.html

rojocorsa
02-14-2012, 3:37 PM
Yeah, +1 for mentioning that site. I should have included it yesterday on the PM.

emcon5
02-14-2012, 3:38 PM
Someone will correct me if I am wrong, but I am pretty sure that isn't the original stock. I think it should have a flat butt-plate.

Also, the numbers on the barrel look odd. Not saying they are not original, but they look different than my 42/1940, and they look different than the two 42/1940 rifles in the Photo Reference thread on the K98forum.

rojocorsa
02-14-2012, 3:43 PM
Someone will correct me if I am wrong, but I am pretty sure that isn't the original stock. I think it should have a flat butt-plate.