PDA

View Full Version : Odd Handgun Import question

thatrogue
02-13-2012, 4:30 PM
I am the Operations Manager for a Company that has offices in CA, and NV. Under the President I manage all operations. I am a CA resident.

The type of work we do, puts us in contact with personnel property. We are required by state law to inventory and store this property for 60 days. We charge for this service. During that 60 day hold we send a letter describing the property and disclosing that we will dispose of all property after the hold period.

When we dispose personnel property we have complete desecration as to what we do with the property. Often we donate or throw the items away. Occasionally there are valuable items in the inventory.

In this case the inventory includes a SW 1911pd w/Crimson trace grips.

How do I lawfully import/register this Pistol to CA as it is now expired from the state mandated hold period?

Please excuse me if I missed something big here.

nick
02-13-2012, 4:32 PM
You're paid to desecrate property???

morrcarr67
02-13-2012, 4:39 PM
I may be wrong and believe me someone will be more than happy to correct me.

It sound to me like you have come in to possession via an "operation of law". And, in that case you might be able to use the OP-Law form (http://oag.ca.gov/sites/all/files/pdfs/firearms/forms/oplaw.pdf?).

Librarian
02-13-2012, 5:12 PM
I'm pretty sure that would be 'discretion' as viewed through spell-check...

Haven't seen this one before; operation of law might be the one, but it would seem it would be property of the management company.

morrcarr67
02-13-2012, 6:20 PM
Librarian - If the management company owns it couldn't they determine who gets the gun?

I mean isn't that part of the operation of law? The management company determines what to do with the other property.

Librarian
02-13-2012, 8:48 PM
Librarian - If the management company owns it couldn't they determine who gets the gun?