PDA

View Full Version : Is Social Security number required for 03 app?


Falstaff
02-13-2012, 3:38 PM
Social Security number is optional for the 4473 what about the ATF Form 7CR?
(Curio and relic)

winnre
02-13-2012, 3:44 PM
Social Security number is optional for the 4473 what about the ATF Form 7CR?
(Curio and relic)


Include it. Why make it harder for them?

Falstaff
02-13-2012, 3:46 PM
Because it was NEVER supposed to be used as a national ID, most people are blissfully ignorant of that fact.

emcon5
02-13-2012, 3:59 PM
There was a thread a while back about a guy who got denied because he didn't supply his SSN.

The short answer is you don't have to supply it, but it is required for the background check.

winnre
02-13-2012, 4:02 PM
Because it was NEVER supposed to be used as a national ID, most people are blissfully ignorant of that fact.

Tell that to the Army.

Shellshocker66
02-13-2012, 4:09 PM
I was very very delayed in getting my C&R because I forgot to put it on the application. I finally got in touch with the agent for my area who informed me without the SSN they couldn't process the application.

So had to wait for them to send it back so I could fill it in. What should of been a couple month process turned into almost 5.

So the answer is if you want a C&R you better include it.

CSACANNONEER
02-13-2012, 4:09 PM
There is a time and place to fight every battle. If you think that now is the time and you have good tactics, then fight it! Just be prepared to face the consequenses if you loose. BTW, no, you do not have o provide it. Also, ATF does not have to approve your application.

Knight_Who_Says_Ni
02-13-2012, 4:15 PM
Because it was NEVER supposed to be used as a national ID, most people are blissfully ignorant of that fact.


I brought that up while on the phone with an AT&T rep, he wanted my social to confirm that it was actually my account I was trying to access. I tried to explain to him that he couldn't legally ask me for my SSN, he then said I was illegally trying to access someone else's when I refused to give it and begun yelling at me over the phone...

His tone changed quite a bit once I gave him the last 4 digits! :D

DennisCA
02-13-2012, 4:25 PM
Here we go again!
Did we go down this road not-that-long ago?
I agree with my fellow cal-gunners: put the damn ssn on it and move on!
You are going to make life extemely difficult for yourself if you don't.
They have your information anyways - they just confirming it.
(not that anyone would take someone else's ID)

:beatdeadhorse5:

OHOD
02-13-2012, 5:14 PM
Here we go again!
Did we go down this road not-that-long ago?
I agree with my fellow cal-gunners: put the damn ssn on it and move on!
You are going to make life extemely difficult for yourself if you don't.
They have your information anyways - they just confirming it.
(not that anyone would take someone else's ID)

:beatdeadhorse5:

^^^^This
Don't worry about it, just put your SSN on the application.

bloodhawke83
02-13-2012, 5:39 PM
I put my SSN on mine, I have nothing to hide.

AlabamaBound
02-13-2012, 6:17 PM
I put my ssn on mine and the turnaround for my FFL was less than 1 month. I figured since I am dealing with the federal government, they have it already anyway...

bloodhawke83
02-13-2012, 6:57 PM
I put my ssn on mine and the turnaround for my FFL was less than 1 month. I figured since I am dealing with the federal government, they have it already anyway...

I don't want to be confused with illegals and ex-cons. :rolleyes:

h0use
02-13-2012, 7:19 PM
just put your ssn down