PDA

View Full Version : help DOJ blocked my purchase

wiggin
02-11-2012, 7:27 PM
So I tried to start my first build. CA DOJ blocked the purchase and told me it was because the state of Pennsylvania blocked the purchase. They put me in touch with the PA state police and they told me that they did not block the sale and that California is misreading the flag that just indicates that I have a misdomeaner charge. Its not a charge that would make me a prohibited person. So PA has explained this all to CA DOJ! But CA DOJ still says to me that even though they now know it is a glitch in their system and that they Know I am not a prohibited person, they still can't approve the sale until PA removes the flag. PA now says they can't remove the flag and shouldn't need to because the flag has nothing to do with prohobiting me from purchasing a firearm. So they now say the FBI can erase the flag...and now I'm impatiently waiting to hear back from them. Sorry I know this rambles on but I've been stressing all week. Oh and this would of been my 5th firearm purchase in CA since I received that misdomeaner 15 years ago. I also had a CCW for 2 years.
Please tell me this will work out! Anywhere I can turn to for help? Thanks:confused:

axel4488
02-11-2012, 7:39 PM
Sounds like you need to contact the CGF and after they fix this make a nice donation.

SilverTauron
02-11-2012, 7:44 PM
What kind of misdemeanor charge is it?

PA might not think it matters, but if California considers the charge a 'prohibited offense' their legal opinion is irrelevant. Sounds like as far as the California DOJ is concerned you are a prohibited person. Proceeding further will require legal action of some sort. Sorry to hear you got barred.

Edit: Indeed, according to California's guidelines on prohibited categories misdemeanor offenses are included in their criterion. It wouldn't matter if the offense happened in Pennsylvania or the planet Mars, if the DOJ knows about it = banned category.