PDA

View Full Version : Hearsay evidence is now admissible in issuing permanent restraining orders

RandyD
02-10-2012, 11:10 AM
As many of you may know, I am an attorney that regularly submits posts pertaining to threads about restraining order. I market myself in seeking clients who need a restraining order and those who need to oppose restraining orders. I have been doing this type of work for over 18 years, and the trend has been to issue restraining orders on less evidence.

I represented a client, Mr. Wilson, in the trial phase of Kaiser Foundation Hospitals v. Jeff Wilson. During the hearing, Kaiser’s evidence consisted entirely of hearsay evidence. I asserted the appropriate objections, which preserved Mr. Wilson’s rights on appeal. In response to my hearsay objections, the judge stated on the record, that unless he accepted hearsay evidence he would never be able to issue a restraining order. At the conclusion of the hearing, the judge imposed a restraining order on Mr. Wilson, and an appeal was filed.

On appeal the Fourth District Appellate Court ruled that hearsay evidence is admissible in restraining order hearings. Below is a paragraph taken from the court’s ruling.

“The language of Evidence Code section 1200 does not convince us that hearsay evidence should not be admitted and considered by a court in hearings conducted pursuant to section 527.8, subdivision (f). Evidence Code section 1200, subdivision (b) provides that hearsay evidence is generally inadmissible, [e]xcept as provided by law.” Subdivision (f) of section 527.8 appears to be one of the exceptions to Evidence Code section 1200, subdivision (b), in that it mandates that the court consider, without limitation, “any testimony that is relevant.” In other words, as long as the hearsay evidence presented at a section 527.8 hearing is relevant, the court is to consider it.”

You can read the case in full at: http://caselaw.findlaw.com/ca-court-of-appeal/1587357.html