PDA

View Full Version : Live in more than one state...

Thecrazyone1
02-09-2012, 11:00 AM
I live in CA but I also live in Nevada / Hawaii from time to time (with my parents). Is it possible to buy an offlist gun in Nevada / Hawaii and register it when I come back to CA?

Lives_In_Fresno
02-09-2012, 11:03 AM
It is more clean for your parents to take up shooting, buy one, and transfer it to you after they get tired of it.

dexter9659
02-09-2012, 11:15 AM
You may purchase a non-roster handgun in NV. You may then bring it into CA, unless it is a CA AW. Assembled magazines that come with the gun that hold 11+ rounds may not enter CA (unless you are LEO). Unless you are a new resident to CA, you will not be required to register the handgun. You only must register handguns if you are a new resident, or purchase a handgun in CA. There is no law that requires all handguns to be registered.

Correct me if I am wrong here. And no I am not a lawyer.

ckprax
02-09-2012, 12:12 PM
You may purchase a non-roster handgun in NV. You may then bring it into CA, unless it is a CA AW. Assembled magazines that come with the gun that hold 11+ rounds may not enter CA (unless you are LEO). Unless you are a new resident to CA, you will not be required to register the handgun. You only must register handguns if you are a new resident, or purchase a handgun in CA. There is no law that requires all handguns to be registered.

Correct me if I am wrong here. And no I am not a lawyer.

You are correct that no law requires all handguns to be registered, however all handguns that are imported into the state must be sold or registered within 60 days of bringing them in. New resident or duel resident, it does not matter.

To the OP, what state is on your DL? Yes you can purchase firearms in NV or HI but you must meet that states residency requirements.

Ubermcoupe
02-09-2012, 12:15 PM