PDA

View Full Version : Dual residency question??

Hank Dodge
02-04-2012, 3:17 PM
OK...I'm a California resident as well as a homeowner in another state. I split my time between the two residences. If I legally buy a firearm in that other state, could I bring it back to CA with me? What about an "off roster" handgun? I know that a person traveling or moving into CA can bring their guns with them, would this not be along the same lines?

I'm interested in a gun not on the roster and am looking at my options. I don't like the idea of registering it here under the "single-shot" modification as it seems like I'd be doing something illegal. The fact that I can legally purchase the gun I want under my other residence address makes me wonder if I could bring it back and forth to CA with me, or if I would have to leave it there? I'm just confused about the interstate registration aspects of it or any other firearms not affected by the roster. Any thoughts?

kemasa
02-04-2012, 3:57 PM
As far as I know, you can bring the firearm into CA and most likely would need to fill out the CA DOJ form and pay the money. It is a somewhat unusual situation since you are not moving here, but you can legally purchase the firearm in another state and you can legally move here and bring your firearms with you (except so-called a-salt weapons).

The law regarding moving here and registering the firearm is a different situation, but it could apply to you or perhaps you would not need to do anything. I believe you have 60 days to fill out the form, so if you go back within that time period, then you would be fine, perhaps.

SSE is not doing something illegal.

Hank Dodge
02-04-2012, 8:17 PM