PDA

View Full Version : out of state purchase question

mrbongo01
02-02-2012, 12:32 AM
Good morning… I need some advice… I just purchased a used Taurus 605 ( 5rd 2” barrel snub nose) from Gunbroker. The handgun is on the approved weapons list. The gentleman I purchased the handgun from lives in Tucson, AZ. I am a resident of California. His FFL refuses and states he will not transfer the handgun to California. Another FFL wants to charge $70 to do the transfer from Arizona FFL to California FFL.

From what I researched, the gentleman I purchased the handgun from does not have to go through an FFL in Arizona to transfer the weapon. The handgun can be sent directly from out of state private party directly to the FFL in California. Is this correct? Any input would be greatly advised… Thanks in advance…..

Quiet
02-02-2012, 2:44 AM
From what I researched, the gentleman I purchased the handgun from does not have to go through an FFL in Arizona to transfer the weapon. The handgun can be sent directly from out of state private party directly to the FFL in California. Is this correct?
This is correct.
The individual will need to include a copy of his state DL/ID for the recieving FFL's paperwork.

There are no Federal or state requirements that requires the use of a FFL dealer to ship a firearm to another FFL dealer.

However, check with the FFL dealer recieving the firearm. Because some FFL dealers perfer to recieve only from other FFLs for ease of paperwork.

davbog44
02-02-2012, 4:17 AM
FWIW, there is an FFL in AZ, Quentin Laser, that is familiar with and will deal with transfers in to CA t your FFL. I can't at the moment find their contact info, but I am pretty sure you can google them. They only charged me $25.00 in a similar situation.

mrbongo01
02-02-2012, 6:16 AM
So if I am correct, it is not against the law for a private party person that resides in AZ to ship a handgun to a California FFL holder for a lawful purchase and transfer?