PDA

View Full Version : AR 80/20 Kit Question

Zamble
01-25-2012, 1:58 AM
Hi, I am new here. I had a question about the 80/20 AR kits in .223.

What manufacturer do you prefer and why? This is my first kit.

I would prefer a kit that is already anodized. I have no experience doing it myself.

I was looking at vbd at the Anodized Forging, Drill Kit, Jig, and Prints, for $394.50.

If you have any better suggestions for a complete kit it would be apreciated.

Thank you.

wash
01-25-2012, 11:22 AM
AR FCG pockets really need to be milled.

The drill jig methods usually turn out looking like they were attacked by an angry beaver.

If you have a good drill press and a good XY table, that can work out OK but if your drill spindle has loose bearings, your drill chuck loosens up in your spindle taper or your XY table isn't rigid enough or has too much backlash, you can wind up with an ugly or ruined lower.

If you have a good manual mill, you shouldn't really have to worry about the machine letting you down, now the main variable is the skill of the operator.

If you find someone doing a CNC build party, that's the best. You need to have the lower well clamped and properly zeroed but if the cutters are sharp and the NC program is good, your pocket should come out perfect. Problems can still occur but as long as you are not the first lower in line, the chances are rather small.

I can't recommend either drill press method and that price seems high.

If you can find a CNC build party with reasonable prices, the same money would pay for about three 80% lowers and machine time. You won't have a jig afterward but you'll have two more lowers and all of them will be well machined.

nick
01-25-2012, 1:18 PM