PDA

View Full Version : SU-16 Upgrades...

rich9644
03-14-2007, 11:31 PM
Hello all! First post here.

First off, I did a search but didn't find anything related to what i'm looking for. I would like to know if anyone has upgrade their SU-16's (I own a CA model) with any aftermarket parts that might make the rifle more durable. So far, the only thing I know of that will work are Magazines, AR-15 type extractors, and certain muzzle breaks. Is there something I'm missing here?

What do you guys suggest that I replace or add to my rifle? SO far, I have a bushmaster extractor and an aimpoint. Any prefered muzzle breaks?

Advice would be appreciated. THanks!

-Rich

Full Clip
03-15-2007, 6:28 AM
Sounds like you have made the two most important additions.
For muzzle breaks, I went with this Miculek model:
http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=942876

Pic added:
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2005-3/981624/IMGP3931sm.jpg

The Soup Nazi
03-15-2007, 6:52 AM
If you don't want to deal with the handguard-bipod combination anymore, theres this:

http://keltec.ewdcheckout.com/images/compactforend.jpg
If you want a real life example, heres me with one with the compact foreend and a longer pin with a ring so you can easily fold in half:
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d123/WiseBobo/IMG_0209.jpg

Toolbox X
03-15-2007, 9:20 AM
The best advise I can give you is DON'T SHOOT STEEL CASED AMMO through your SU-16.

Brass cases expand in the chamber to seal it from the gasses that go down the barrel. Steel cases do not expand and those gases will go backwards into the chamber and gum it up. The chamber of the SU-16 is not chrome lined. This is where most of the SU-16 failure to extract problems come from.

You would also be wise to religiously and thoroughly clean your chamber after every shoot.

The Bushmaster extractor is very important. Good job. Also make sure you replace the extractor spring and insert (you want a black insert, not blue).